Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 March 2013

Shortlists Announced For The Football League Awards 2013

The Football League has announced the final shortlists ahead of Sunday’s Football League Awards 2013, the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.


The final shortlists include the npower Player of the Year for each division, as well as the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year across the whole of The Football League.


These are just some of the 17 awards that will be handed out this year, with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.


The full shortlists, including that for the Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year are: The shortlists for the npower Players of the Year were drawn up based on votes from the managers in the respective divisions. A list of the ‘top 10’ players in each division based on the managers’ votes will be released after The Football League Awards night.


npower Championship Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Glenn Murray – Crystal Palace

Matěj Vydra – Watford


npower League 1 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

Leon Clarke – Coventry City

Alan Judge – Notts County

Matt Ritchie – AFC Bournemouth


npower League 2 Player of the Year

(voted for by Football League club managers)

               Jamie Cureton – Exeter City

   Gary Jones – Bradford City

Tom Pope – Port Vale


Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year

Thomas Ince – Blackpool

Matěj Vydra – Watford

Crystal Palace    Wilfried Zaha


Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.


“To make these shortlists is a real achievement. I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening.”


Clubs also have an opportunity to taste success on the evening with a number of other awards on the night including; Capital One ‘Credit to the Game’ Award, PFA Player in the Community, LFE Apprentice of the Year Family Club of the Year, Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year, Perform Best Use of Digital and the Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award.


Additional shortlists announced this week include:


Mitre Goal of the Year:

Mark Hudson – Cardiff City (v Derby County)

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (v Cheltenham Town)

Sam Byram – Leeds United (v Oxford United)

 Josh Wright – Millwall (v Burnley)

Simon Cox Nottingham – Nottingham Forest (v Birmingham City)


npower Fan of the Year

(decided by a panel of industry experts)

Pat Raybould – Coventry City

Nick Webster – Derby County

Neil Le Milliere – Exeter City


www.FLAwards.comTo find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit


Winners on the night will be tweeted from the official @football_league Twitter account, using the #FLAwards hashtag.

Advertisement block