Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

22/23 Player of the Year | Nathan Smith

16 May 2023

Club News

22/23 Player of the Year | Nathan Smith

16 May 2023

Valiants have voted for Nathan Smith as the 2022/23 Port Vale FC Player of the Year.

Smith, who played all but one of our 2022/23 Sky Bet League One fixtures, has been a constant in the Vale defence since making his debut in 2016 and recently penned a new deal that will see him stay at Vale Park until at least the summer of 2025.

On receiving the Player of the Year award, Nathan said: "I am absolutely delighted to be named as this year's player of the year. 

"It's always a great feeling receiving an award that's voted for by the supporters whether that's player of the month or player of the year. 

"Parts of the season may have been a bit more difficult than we would've liked but I'd like to thank the fans for always being there and being behind the team every step of the way."

This is Smith's second time as Player of the Year having previously been awarded the title during the 2016/17 season. 

The Port Vale FC Player of the Year Award has been presented every year since 1967 and previous winners can be found below: 

1967 Roy Sproson 1996 Jon McCarthy
1969 Ron Wilson 1997 Lee Mills
1970 John Green 1998 Gareth Ainsworth
1971 Tommy McLaren 1999 Martin Foyle
1972 Sammy Morgan 2000 Tommy Widdrington
1973 Ray Williams 2001 Dave Brammer
1974 David Harris 2002 Mark Goodlad
1975 John Connaughton 2003 Sam Collins
1976 John Ridley 2004 Stephen McPhee
1977 David Harris 2005 Billy Paynter
1978 Ken Beamish 2006 George Pilkington 
1979 Bernie Wright 2007 Akpo Sodje 
1980 Kenny Beech 2008 Paul Harsley 
1981 Russell Bromage 2009 Joe Anyon
1982 Ernie Moss 2010 Anthony Griffith 
1983 Wayne Cegielski 2011 John McCombe
1984 Eamonn O'Keefe 2012 Doug Loft
1985 Alan Webb 2013 Tom Pope
1986 Jim Arnold 2014 Tom Pope
1987 Andy Jones 2015 Michael O'Connor
1988 Ray Walker 2016 Anthony Grant
1989 Mark Grew 2017 Nathan Smith
1990 Neil Aspin 2018 Tom Pope
1991 Ray Walker 2019 Scott Brown 
1992 Mark Grew 2020 David Worrall
1993 Ian Taylor 2021 Tom Conlon
1994 Neil Aspin 2022 Ben Garrity
1995 Martin Foyle 2023 Nathan Smith 


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account